Disaster struck in the Maldives - Reisverslag uit Malé, Malediven van nienkerakhorst - WaarBenJij.nu Disaster struck in the Maldives - Reisverslag uit Malé, Malediven van nienkerakhorst - WaarBenJij.nu

Disaster struck in the Maldives

Door: nienke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

19 April 2008 | Malediven, Malé

I’m in paradise. No, really, I haven’t seen more beautiful tropical scenery in my life before. The Maldives has hardly any land, the few little islands in a turquoise sea are stunning with the whitest beaches, the greenest palm trees and the most idyllic little cottages that make the resorts that has been build on the islands. The sea has the most beautiful coloring from a deep blue to a fresh light green close to the islands. And the diving, it’s absolutely amazing, the amount of different species of fish are numerous, the visibility is great and in the first 6 days I was here I saw everything I wanted to see. From graceful Manta Rays to a school of Eagle Rays, sharks, a whaleshark (!) turtles, numerous schools of fish, brightly colored nudibranches and a great wreck. Everything was still fine at my birthday, my day started out great with a card from home, a funny dive with Laura singing happy birthday to me in the blue at 27 meters. My right ear was a bit irritated after 6 days of diving 3 times a day, but I was happily using acid ear drops and it wasn’t even as bad to start using my antibiotic drops. The next day my whole stay here turned 180 degrees.

I descended to about 20 meters and equalizations went well, no problems there, I didn’t even had a slight irritation at that time. Until I equalized at depth and I felt this funny feeling in my ear. I couldn’t put my finger on it, but when I ascended a little I felt it again and my stomach turned as I realized there were bubbles coming out of the outside of my ear. I had Laura come over to take a look and when I saw the horror on her face I knew enough; I had just perforated my eardrum without feeling the slightest thing..
We immediately ended the dive with me holding on to Laura as I was feeling a bit dizzy and thought I might have a mental breakdown under water. I’ve never cried under water before and I’ve got to tell you, I can’t recommend it. Back on the boat I was devastated ‘cause I know what it meant.

Two years ago during my divemaster traineeship in The Netherlands I had an inner ear infection which broke through my eardrum and caused me to drop any scubadiving activities for 5 months. I knew there was no diving for me in the Maldives any more. Even though Bas kept telling me he’s seen people diving again after 5 days, I couldn’t believe it. Straight after I went to a doctor on one of the local islands who gave me antibiotics, nose drops, painkillers and ear drops after telling me there was a ‘minor infection on my eardrum. I didn’t use the ear drops as they appeared dangerous when having a perforated eardrum.. He couldn’t see the hole himself. His conclusion was that I would be back in the water in 5 days. Although I didn’t believe him immediately I was a bit relieved that this time it might be different. But unfortunately, it was not. I developed a serious inner- and outer ear infection but as I was taken antibiotics I thought that should cover the infection. 4 Days later I was still in a lot of pain (no way paracetamol helps in that case) as my Eustachian tube was completely blocked (so far for the nose drops) and the hole in my ear probably wasn’t big enough to release the pressure so every now and then I could feel it breaking through my eardrum again. I didn’t finish the five days of antibiotics as I was able to see another doctor at one of the resorts on the fourth day. This guy told me the antibiotics I was taking were for people allergic to penicillin and not as strong as I needed. He couldn’t see my eardrum as it was completely blocked by the infection fluid but when he cleaned it out a bit he said the fluorescent green color that was coming out told him it was a serious infection. Conclusion; an extra 14 days of antibiotics, strong painkillers and stomach protectors and a total of 3 months without diving. I can’t even get my ear wet, I have to have a piece of cotton in my ear at all times and I’ve got to be careful with wind blowing in my ear. Let that be all there is on this boat; water everywhere and wind.

It has been almost a week now since this happened and I’m a bit more at ease with the whole situation. I sleep, read and sit in the sun during the day, when I get a bit better I’ll be going out on the dhoni (the dive boat) again to accompany the rest of the people. My big relief is that we have great people on board these first 2 weeks, Laura who I already met in Thailand and Els and Marina, two Belgium women. Els has some problems of her own with her eye which means she can only go snorkeling which is sad for her as well. And of course Bas is here and I’m so glad he is. It’s going really well between the two of us and he takes very good care of me. I don’t want anyone to get really worried about me, I’m still doing okay and enjoying my time here, it’s just a bit different than expected. Sometimes when we’re close to an island we can get half an hour of wireless internet but I never know when that is, so I’ll still be unreachable until the 8th of may.
I’ll keep you posted,
Kiss

  • 19 April 2008 - 08:52

    Roos:

    Hey liefie,

    Ik schrok me dood toen ik de titel van je bericht zag! Ook al weet je dan dat je dit hebt getypt en het dus nooit extreem erg kan zijn (lees; er kwam nu een tijgerhaai langs die wel echt honger had), toch niet leuk om te lezen.

    Hopelijk gaat het gauw wat beter en vind je iets anders om te doen behalve duiken.

    xx

  • 19 April 2008 - 09:04

    Btje:

    Balen nien....zit je lekker in het paradijs en dan dit weer. Niet leuk als je je zo ingesteld hebt op al die duiken en het kan niet meer. Gelukkig heb je de eerste dagen wel veel gezien al. hopelijk vermaak je je nog wel de komende tijd!
    xxx B

  • 19 April 2008 - 09:54

    Papa:

    Ontzettend vervelend allemaal maar maak er toch het beste van. En het gaat weer over gelukkig. Kus,papa.

  • 19 April 2008 - 10:21

    Dieter:

    Hey Nien,

    Zoals je weet, heb ik t ook allemaal meegemaakt.
    K denk dat je er goed aan gedaan hebt om nog eens naar een andere dokter te gaan. Zo heb ik er in m'n verblijf in Thailand en Laos vier gedaan. hehe
    Hetgeen ik moest doen volgens de dokter in België en wat me het snelst heeft geholpen, waren toch druppels. Omdat er vocht achter t trommelvlies zat, moest ik heel veel klaren zodat de vetzakkerij eruit kwam en dan de desinfecterende druppels inmasseren. Dan hoor je zo'n vreselijk piepend geluid en zolang je dat hebt is t ok, later begint t te sputteren en dat betekent dat t aan t dichtgroeien is, en dat is ok, maar dan moet alle vetzakkerij er al zeker uit zijn.

    Hoop dat dit je een beetje helpt en natuurlijk wens k je veel sterkte.
    En tip om niet te gefrustreerd te geraken: feesten!!!! hehehe
    Seg en by the way, je kan prachtig schrijven, maar als fotograaf mis ik toch wel een paar fotootjes.

    groetjes,

    dieter

  • 19 April 2008 - 11:40

    Iet:

    He nien, wat balen zeg! gelukkig is het boven water ook een paradijsje dus je komt de dagen vast wel door. maar wel echt jammer dat je eventjes het water niet meer in kunt. sterkte met je oortje, ik hoop dat je nog een beetje kunt genieten van al het moois daar! veel liefs dikke kus iet

  • 19 April 2008 - 12:54

    Mama En Edwin:


    hey lief meisje,

    gatverdamme!!! as had me al het een en ander verteld; goed dat je haar om haar professionele advies hebt gevraagd!
    fijn dat er medicijnen zijn, ook al moet je weer medicijnen slikken tegen bijwerkingen (heb je ook wat voor mij? ik heb spontaan last van m'n maag gekregen....)!
    het voelt wel heel goed dat je gesteund wordt door de mensen om je heen, met name Bas (doe je hem onze groetjes?), maar je had zo graag voor anderen....
    de situatie doet een waanzinnig appel op je geduld; laat staan dat je gewoon ziek bent en beter moet zien te worden.

    we wensen je daar heel veel kracht mee meisje! en inderdaad, zoals Roos al schreef: probeer het in perspectief te zien.
    dikke knuffels, mama en dwin

  • 19 April 2008 - 15:47

    As:

    Hee stekkie, tja je hebt inderdaad dikke pech. Die ab leken me al niet afdoende. Fijn dat je nu goede medicijnen hebt. Gelukkig (of helaas) word je gedwongen rust te nemen en kan je weer goed genezen. Beterschap! Dikke zoen van mij

  • 19 April 2008 - 21:25

    Marcie En Jan.:

    That is bloody unfortunate ! I had it happen twice, once during submarine training and once in the waters around Curacao. As you say, the worst part is that you can't swim or dive, knowing about all the beauty below you. Fortunately you have at least seen it. We both hug you hard and wish you the best.

  • 20 April 2008 - 00:39

    Anouk:

    Hey Nienke,
    Das niet zo mooi allemaal! Zorg goed voor jezelf. Wel grappig te horen dat jou vriendje hetzelfde heet als mijn vriendje!!! haha.
    Doe rustig aan!!!
    Liefs Anouk

  • 20 April 2008 - 11:24

    Marjan:

    Hoi Nienke,
    Ik heb bewondering voor je, zoals je je er doorheen slaat!
    Nog gefeliciteerd met je verjardag, trouwens - een tikkie laat, maar daarom niet minder gemeend!!!
    liefs,
    Marjan

  • 20 April 2008 - 19:16

    Riny:

    Heej meissie,

    Ik lees je bericht nu pas, dat is even schrikken zeg! Ben blij dat je zo goed verzorgd wordt en je je inmiddels weer een beetje beter voelt. Rustig aan daar!! Dikke kus, ook van Chris!

  • 21 April 2008 - 07:29

    Erik:

    Hou je taai, Nien. Een bekende Nederlandse filosoof zei ooit: "Ieder nadeel heb ze voordeel". In jouw geval betekent dat dat je nu tijd hebt om van de zon te genieten, wat rustiger aan te doen, en misschien wat te lezen en schrijven. En we duimen dat het zo snel mogelijk over gaat en dat je zo min mogeljk pijn hebt.


  • 21 April 2008 - 16:49

    Olof:

    dammmmmm wij hebben nog steeds geen whalesharkl hier in honduras......

    verder gaat het super. lijkt erop dat dit gaat lukken. En dat in de padi way....

    Olof

  • 21 April 2008 - 17:00

    Olof:

    enne klote !!! dat oor. maar goed vorige keer goed gekomen. nu vast ook !!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Malediven, Malé

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

27 November 2008

filmpjes?

16 November 2008

....

03 November 2008

differences

30 Oktober 2008

eventjes snel

27 Oktober 2008

Clumsy as always

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 265
Totaal aantal bezoekers 50096

Voorgaande reizen:

13 Augustus 2007 - 01 Juni 2008

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: