A working woman - Reisverslag uit Cairns, Australië van nienkerakhorst - WaarBenJij.nu A working woman - Reisverslag uit Cairns, Australië van nienkerakhorst - WaarBenJij.nu

A working woman

Door: nienke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

02 Maart 2008 | Australië, Cairns

I almost forgot what it was like, hearing the alarm at 7 am while your body is still in deep-sleep-mode, getting breakfast before putting on your poncho and ride your bike to work half an hour later. But this time I wake up with the comforting sound of the rushing fan above me to drive out the upcoming tropic heat, I make myself vegemite toast before conquering the refreshing rain on my mountainbike while riding on the left side of the road to get to my workplace; the Reef Fleet Terminal where Great Adventures Cruises takes me to Green Island, the only island where a rainforest managed to grow on sand surrounded by the best coral gardens of the Great Barrier Reef. Now breathe, that was a long sentence :-).
Arrived at the jetty we get into the tender (little boat, before this, I had no clue what a tender was) which gets us to the dsv (dive supporting vehicle, did I already tell you this? I think I did but I don't think you remembered). That, in short, is my start of Another Day at the Office. I love it.

It does mean that I have less time to go out and explore Australia, but I also feel like I'm doing that every single day, experiencing every day life the aussie way.

Yesterday we had a theme-party of the Cairns Sharehouse, the company I'm living with. Everyone had to be dressed up as something starting with a P. Will and Emma were pirates, Gabrielle was a painter, Beate was Pipi Longstockings, Jo was a present and I was a Punker. It was great fun, especially because Jo's outfit was a big box with 3 holes which she put over her head. This meant problems sitting down, dancing and drinking, but it made a great side-table for us, she won the second price in the costume-contest and we heard the best pick-up line "Can I unwrap you?" about a thousand times. Fun really started when we left the party and went into town. I was amazed by how many people thought the big red 'Anarchy' tattoo on my arm was real (Just permanent marker, it'll be gone before I come back home, no worries mam :-) )


I'll upload some photo's about the stuff I've been doing lately and video's about me, the tuskfish (a cuty, look at the big teeth! Almost as gorgeous as Keauw's tusks were) and our batfish. Also a little video under water, a customer gets his picture taken. No walking unfortunately as I'm always busy doing stuff and being funny :-).

Love you guys, see you soon!

  • 02 Maart 2008 - 08:26

    Daphne:

    Hi Nienke, klinkt nog steeds helemaal goed, wat een humor die party, ga je zo ff als punker bewonderen :)

  • 02 Maart 2008 - 09:05

    Edwin :

    Leuke plaatjes. Erg druk daar onder water. Geniet nog even van je vrije dagen! Kus

  • 02 Maart 2008 - 09:38

    Mama:

    hoi meisje,

    was gezellig om met je te kletsen vanmorgen! heb oma uitgebreid gebeld; veel knuffels terug. ze klonk zeer goed en opgetogen.
    stuur haar nu je verhaal met foto's; de video's (geweldig!!!!) heb ik beeldend doorverteld.

    prachtige update weer!
    knuffels, mama

  • 02 Maart 2008 - 10:56

    Olof:

    hahaha, toffe tattoo. Dikke prima !

  • 02 Maart 2008 - 12:37

    Papa:

    veel verschil maar ook gelijkenis met bonaire. iedereen heeft weer mee kunnebn gnieten van je avonturen. wij gaan nog een weekjr hier door. kus.

  • 02 Maart 2008 - 13:14

    Bas:

    Black & blue with tattoo ;).
    Liefs !


  • 03 Maart 2008 - 20:19

    Marcie, Jan:

    Hi, anarchist Punker,
    From a foggy, cold and rainy Shirley, we
    "wish we where there!" A great group to be with, fully alive.
    Jealous old man..........

  • 04 Maart 2008 - 14:55

    Btje:

    Hey working girl! Fijn dat ze in aussie ook themafeestjes hebben. ziet er gezellig uit allemaal!
    x B

  • 05 Maart 2008 - 12:32

    Iris:

    Hee meissie!
    We komen naar Cairns! :-) Ziet er prachtig uit...
    En misschien mag je ons wel wegwijs maken in de onderwaterwereld... we willen graag een proefduik maken!
    Geniet ervan en tot over een weekje of drie/vier..?
    Liefs Ies en Ollie

  • 15 Maart 2008 - 05:47

    Iris:

    Hi Nien!

    Wij komen, als het goed is, 4 of 5 april aan in Cairns, voor twee dagen... Ben je er dan nog?
    Hier is het weer prachtig, maar ook een zware tegenvaller gehad: al onze bagage is gestolen! :-(

    Hopelijk heb jij daar in Cairns meer geluk! Laat me weten tot wanneer je daar bent!

    Veel plezier en liefs Ies

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Cairns

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

27 November 2008

filmpjes?

16 November 2008

....

03 November 2008

differences

30 Oktober 2008

eventjes snel

27 Oktober 2008

Clumsy as always

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 215
Totaal aantal bezoekers 50091

Voorgaande reizen:

13 Augustus 2007 - 01 Juni 2008

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: