Nerves of steel...I wish! - Reisverslag uit Cairns, Australië van nienkerakhorst - WaarBenJij.nu Nerves of steel...I wish! - Reisverslag uit Cairns, Australië van nienkerakhorst - WaarBenJij.nu

Nerves of steel...I wish!

Door: nienke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

24 Maart 2008 | Australië, Cairns

At last it happened, something scared the shit out of me under water! I'm not the most experienced diver, but I've seen a few sharks so far and none of them made me even remotely nervous. Well, that changed.

It started of as a normal day, the sun was out and the visibility cleared up well, with 15 meters the reef looked beautiful. For the first two trips in the morning I was lead guide, which means I'm the one doing the tour with the customers and I had Jun with me as my safety diver at the back of the group. The first trip went smoothly, I showed my customers the reef, we played with the fish and everybody was happy. Halfway the second trip I was just walking from the first scenic spot to the next facing my customers (so walking backwards) when I felt a water wave hitting my back. I turned around and faced an enormous tail passing by which was attached to the biggest shark I've ever seen. Instantly my heartbeat raised and I turned to my first-time-under-water-asian customers whose faces went ashen. Trying to be excited I gave them the OK signal with a big smile but I was pissing myself. Instantly I stopped them and saw the shark disappearing over the reef moving everything and stirring sand up with its powerful tail which diminished the visibility over the reef to zero. As soon as it disappeared it made a big loop, this time heading straight towards us. I was absolutely shitting myself getting ready for impact but about 2 meters before us it changed direction and disappeared. I turned to my customers and got a shivering OK out of them before heading off to the ladder to get them out of the water as soon as possible. I've seen a few reefsharks in the area before which are small and cute and in no way harmful, but this was something completely different. After my description the crew thought it could've been a tigershark which is one of the more curious and unpredictable sharks out there. I'm not sure what it was, but it was huge and it scared the shit out of me. Luckily, we haven't seen it since. Being well aware of the bottle of fishfood in my jacket didn't make the experience any more comfortable.. This was the first time I was really nervous about a situation probably also because I didn't expect something like this to happen in 5 meter deep water..
But well, that's another experience, one I won't forget easily and I definitely think a bit less lightly about sharks now. Hopefully that's gonna make me a better diver..

  • 24 Maart 2008 - 07:48

    Mama:

    hey diver!
    incredible amazing and terrifying!!!
    you also realise that in the meantime you have to look after / have the responsibility for some people with no experience what so ever...!!!
    on the other hand: to be honest I was waiting for something 'to happen' under water: so far it seemed to me that it went very / too smoothly.......
    makes you respect life (yours and others) even better I think!

    lots of love and hope the trembling is gone by now!
    mama

  • 24 Maart 2008 - 08:04

    Edwin:

    What a story! I'm glad to hear you're safe and sound! What did your customers think of it?
    Big hug

  • 24 Maart 2008 - 10:34

    Bas:

    Hey,

    Yep ,tigers are the most curious of them al l and dont need a lot of encouragement to take a bite to see if you are eatable. Needles to say this wouldn't have ended up with bruises in that case.
    It must have been the fishfood or it just liked you ;-)

    Dive safe babe, 2 weeks.....
    Kiss

  • 24 Maart 2008 - 10:43

    Papa:

    you will never forget this and it sure makes you a better diver. Glad it turned out to be a happy end! kus

  • 24 Maart 2008 - 10:44

    Papa:

    you will never forget this and it sure makes you a better diver. Glad it turned out to be a happy end! kus

  • 24 Maart 2008 - 11:08

    As:

    Yikes!! Wat een eng verhaal hee! Die zijn volgens mij best agressief, tiger sharks. Je moet die vissen maar niet al te veel vertrouwen geloof ik. Die duikers van je hebben wel de duik van hun leven gehad he....?
    Heel veel plezier straks in de malediven, hoop je voor die tijd nog wel even te spreken!!!
    Dikke zoen van je zus

  • 24 Maart 2008 - 15:08

    Danka:

    jezus wat eng!! heb ook een aantal keren gedoken in zuid oost azie, australie (townsville) en nu curacao maar nog nooit in zo'n enge situatie geweest gelukkig!
    Knap dat je zo rustig bleef (ook al was je dat dus niet:)
    veel plezier!

    xx Danka

  • 24 Maart 2008 - 23:38

    Debs:

    OMG that's such an amazing story!!!

  • 25 Maart 2008 - 10:51

    Riny:

    Jee, wat heftig! Das nog eens wat anders dan het rustig vanaf de bank bekijken op animal planet.. Succes tijdens je laatste dagen daar! Kus!

  • 25 Maart 2008 - 18:05

    Marcie, Jan:

    Holy smokes! Jumping Moses, and more of that. While also having to take care of first-timers! You did well; we are proud.
    Right now we have a cougar in our area. We are afraid for our cats and the dog.
    We'll tell him you are coming which will make him scared enough to leave fast.

  • 26 Maart 2008 - 08:18

    Joris En Mignon:

    Oef.... !!
    Hier gisteren 2 duiken gemaakt... allesbehalve zo spannend als bovenstaand verslag!
    Liefs,
    Joris en Mignon

  • 26 Maart 2008 - 11:36

    Jellien:

    Haai!
    Ik vind Nemo denk ik liever......
    X

  • 27 Maart 2008 - 23:58

    Alex:

    WOW!!! wtf.. what a story. hope you get your breath back and enjoy the comming dives. glad to hear you're OKAY.

    big HUG,
    Alex

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Cairns

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

27 November 2008

filmpjes?

16 November 2008

....

03 November 2008

differences

30 Oktober 2008

eventjes snel

27 Oktober 2008

Clumsy as always

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 201
Totaal aantal bezoekers 50092

Voorgaande reizen:

13 Augustus 2007 - 01 Juni 2008

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: