Promoted to crash-test-dummy - Reisverslag uit Auckland, Nieuw Zeeland van nienkerakhorst - WaarBenJij.nu Promoted to crash-test-dummy - Reisverslag uit Auckland, Nieuw Zeeland van nienkerakhorst - WaarBenJij.nu

Promoted to crash-test-dummy

Door: nienke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

18 Mei 2008 | Nieuw Zeeland, Auckland

I just finished a week in a loving home north of Auckland where I was involved in the Kiwi Cowboy Experience! Monday morning 8 am I walked to Lower Albert street where, according to my map, my pick-up would be at 8.30. The directions told me: 46 Lower Albert Street, Ritchies Route 058, pickup to farm 8.30 am. At first I thought Ritchies and Route 058 were stores I had to be in front of (as there is a Route 66 store, so why not a Route 058 store..) and I couldn't find them. According to the map I was in the right position, so I just waited for the pick-up to come and get me. Time went by and after calling the number on the form several time without answering I realized I couldn't be in the right place. All of a sudden I saw a government bus coming my way with 'RITCHIES ROUTE 058' on the screen.. Then I knew it was a bus company and I felt pretty damn stupid. I hopped on, told the guy where I needed to go and he looked at me like I was talking Swahili. With an 'other bus coming' he kicked me off the bus again. As it was about 15 minutes after departure time I decided to leave and when I crossed the road a timetable with 'route 058' catched my eye. I had been on the wrong side of the road for 45 minutes! I didn't take any risks and jumped in the first Ritchies bus I saw to ask for directions. The driver was very helpful, got on his intercom-system and the moment he got in contact with the right bus it had just passed us.. That's when the chase begun, one bus following the other, with the result that I could get onto the right bus a few miles further up. The moment I got into the right bus and I told the driver where to go he had no idea either.. Luckily by then I got through to the organization by phone and they could tell the driver where to go. Only half an hour late I arrived at my destination :-)

Julie (the owner), Paula and Andrea (two german girls) were waiting for me and after we bought ourselves some Gum Boots (our regenlaarzen :))we were on our way to the farm! It's a horsefarm where Julie has her own horses and other people's horses, where there are nice big paddocks to graze, play and ride in and which is close to the forest and the beach! The week went by so quickly, we rode every day, in the paddocks, the forest or on the beach, we got natural horsemanship lessons and helped out with cleaning, feeding, grooming and transporting the horses. We lived with the family in their home (Julie, Chris and their son Jordan, Angela who just stayed for a few more weeks, puppy and the two cats) and they are the most welcoming people I've met so far. In a week's time Julie promoted me to crash-test-dummy for new horses and would love to have me back before I leave, and I can't wait! First I'll do my trip around New Zealand, starting on tuesday and when I come back I'll have another week and a half to stay with them.
But now, let's actually see some sheep, walk a few glaciers and jump out of a plane! I'll keep you posted..

  • 18 Mei 2008 - 01:31

    Bas:

    Not sure about the crash test dummy thing but enjoy!

  • 18 Mei 2008 - 05:26

    Pap:

    was leuk met je te mailen om msn. in dat opzicht is de wereld klein maar veel verder weg dan NZ kun je niet zijn. Benieuwd hoe het verder gaat; spectaculaire vooruitzichten! Kus

  • 18 Mei 2008 - 07:10

    Mama:

    in een notedop jouw gevoel voor richting en....doorzettingsvermogen! en overal weer het beste uit halen!
    en wat een foto's! 'k denk dat ik er ook maar een jaartje tussenuit ga!
    jouw plannen klinken inderdaad spectaculair....ik geloof toch dat ik je liever onder water zie.....

    have fun and enjoy people!
    knuffel, mama

  • 18 Mei 2008 - 07:19

    Mama:

    ...and a great video! gives me a wonderful feeling!
    love you!
    mama

  • 18 Mei 2008 - 08:25

    As:

    hoi stek! Wat een leuk verhaal en foto's weer. Je bent ook overal wel op je plek he?! Leuk ook om even een filmpje van je te zien. Geniet van je laatste maanden, voor je 't weet ben je weer thuis! En daar kijk ik natuurlijk wel naar uit!
    Liefs van je zus

  • 18 Mei 2008 - 11:44

    Btje:

    Leuk, paardjes!!! ziet er gezellig uit. hoop dat de rest van NZ ook zo bevalt!
    xxxx

  • 18 Mei 2008 - 12:45

    Edwin:

    Wat een werk om zo'n paard op te schilderen! Goeie reis en have fun!

  • 18 Mei 2008 - 20:02

    Riny:

    Klinkt weer super en wat een prachtige foto's heb je gemaakt! Stond vandaag op het vliegveldje op Texel te kijken naar allemaal stoere parachutisten en toen hadden we het er al over dat dat ook net iets voor jou is, grappig dat ik een paar uur later lees dat je dat ook inderdaad gaat doen. Geniet maar lekker verder daar meis! Kus

  • 19 Mei 2008 - 07:05

    Erik:

    Oranje boven! Oranje down under! Een betere ambassadrice is er niet!

    Blijf genieten.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nieuw Zeeland, Auckland

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

27 November 2008

filmpjes?

16 November 2008

....

03 November 2008

differences

30 Oktober 2008

eventjes snel

27 Oktober 2008

Clumsy as always

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 208
Totaal aantal bezoekers 50101

Voorgaande reizen:

13 Augustus 2007 - 01 Juni 2008

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: