I've never been this far away from home - Reisverslag uit Queenstown, Nieuw Zeeland van nienkerakhorst - WaarBenJij.nu I've never been this far away from home - Reisverslag uit Queenstown, Nieuw Zeeland van nienkerakhorst - WaarBenJij.nu

I've never been this far away from home

Door: nienke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

04 Juni 2008 | Nieuw Zeeland, Queenstown

Queenstown, backpacker city of the South Island, it is such a lovely little city. We arrived in Picton after an amazing ferry ride from the North Island to go straight to Abel Tasman National Park. If anyone of you wants to go to NZ, this is an absolute must-do as it is the smallest but most stunning national parks of NZ. We stayed in Old McDonald's farm (never new it was real, but hey, there were more things I didn't know before :-)) had an amazing meal Bundi, our driver, cooked us and made Smoors around the bonfire (in case you don't know what they are, it involves roasted marshmallows, biscuits and chocolate and a shower after!). The day after we walked one of the coastal tracks which had the most amazing scenery ever! As we were kind of tired after 4 hours we took a water taxi back which gave us an amazing scenic ride back to the farm. When we got back it was low tide and a truck with trailer pulled in to pick us up from the water. The moment I thought we had to get out, he drove away with the boat on the trailer! Which meant we were sitting in the boat on the road back to the farm. That was a weird experience..
As always, this wasn't quite exhilarating enough for yours truly, so I decided to go hanggliding in the afternoon!


The recipe includes a kite (just a bit bigger than the one you used to play with on the beach) an insane instructor, 2 sleeping bags which are used to strap you up in on top of each other, one dragonfly (which is a green little airplane used to tow you in the air) and some good lungs to scream your heart out. Being towed in the air is the relaxed part of the trip, you're literally just hangin' around, silence before the storm.. The moment the connection between us and the dragonfly is broken at height the fun begins..
There is silence and the fear of not knowing what will happen before you duck down in a vertical line towards earth with nothing in front of you. I can tell you, that is absolutely terrifying! Hanging under a kite is such a different feeling than a parachute as you need speed to stay in the air. At one point I had to steer which I completely screwed up ofcourse, but nothing major happened, I'm still alive :-) I have a dvd of this journey for when I get back!

After Abel Tasman we went to Franz Josef National Park where we climbed the Fox Glacier! This is the fastest moving glacier in NZ and with that also the steepest, so our muscles were tested once again.. As it is moving so quickly the routes changes every day which means that our guides had to cut steps in the glacier as we went along to make sure we could actually get up there. That looked like an awfully tiring job to me.. I have to say that it was pretty, but not as pretty as the glacier we climbed in Jaspar National Park, Canada. But still, major crevasses to walk through while trying to work your crampons is good fun!

In between we're having a few little parties here and there, the pictures will speak for themselves..

I'm in Queenstown at the moment, the furthest away from home I'll be during my travels. I can't believe I'm actually at the other end of the world right now, living my daily life at the same time you are curled up asleep. The day after tomorrow I'm going back up north to get closer and closer to holland with every bus journey and flight which are waiting for me. I do feel I'm really on my way back and actually, I don't mind. It is absolutely stunning here in NZ and I'm enjoying every moment, but I feel that I'm getting tired now. I've seen so many amazing things and it feels a bit like I'm overflowing. So, as planned, I'm heading back north, stay at that farm for the remaining 1,5 weeks, chill out in a hammock in fiji, see my grandparents in canada and then I'll be back the 22nd of july!
big kiss!

  • 04 Juni 2008 - 06:23

    Mama:

    moet alles nog even laten bezinken.....
    wat een foto's!!
    ik reageer nog op jouw mailtje
    ben zo eerst even weg
    kus, mama

  • 04 Juni 2008 - 06:24

    Erik:

    Ah! Home! Where is it?
    The plant is a fern (varen). The young ones such as in the picture, are called 'fiddleheads'. You can eat them.
    Bon appetit.

  • 04 Juni 2008 - 06:38

    Mama:

    erik is me voor: vorig weekend heb ik een vergelijkbare varenfoto gemaakt; geweldig dat jij hier oog voor ontwikkelt!
    en wat een prachtige video's!!! ongeevenaard
    kus, mama

  • 04 Juni 2008 - 06:40

    Bas:

    Damned, jij kan daar lekker biertjes drinken :-S....

  • 04 Juni 2008 - 07:44

    Btje:

    Hallo meisje aan de andere kant van de wereld! Kan me voorstellen dat je overloopt van ervaringen, dus mooi dat je weer deze kant op komt! xxxxx

  • 04 Juni 2008 - 08:22

    Riny:

    Wat moet je hier nou nog op zeggen...het is allemaal erg onwerkelijk als je zelf in druilerig nederland met een kopje thee achter de pc zit. De foto's en filmpjes zijn super trouwens en kan me nu ook iets voorstellen bij het hanggliding gebeuren! Nou meis tot over een paar weken! Kus

  • 04 Juni 2008 - 08:44

    Edwin:

    Weer enorm genoten van je verhalen, foto's en video's! Chill ze

  • 04 Juni 2008 - 10:14

    As:

    Fantastico!!!
    En wat is je haar blond! dikke zoen as

  • 04 Juni 2008 - 18:02

    Daphne:

    Hi Nienke, wat een heerlijke avonturen allemaal en de foto's zijn prachtig :) Geniet ervan!

    Liefs Daphne

  • 05 Juni 2008 - 05:46

    Papa:

    spannend allemaal weer en wat een fraaie foto's en videos. Toch ook een beetje aan het verzadigen zo te horen, maar maak een mooie eindsprint! Kus

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nieuw Zeeland, Queenstown

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

27 November 2008

filmpjes?

16 November 2008

....

03 November 2008

differences

30 Oktober 2008

eventjes snel

27 Oktober 2008

Clumsy as always

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 209
Totaal aantal bezoekers 50089

Voorgaande reizen:

13 Augustus 2007 - 01 Juni 2008

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: